Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 106.81420%

I need help idenifying an old Ludwig snare drum

Hello...I'm new on here and I thought maybe someone on here might be able to give me a hand identifying an old Ludwig snare drum. I've been a working drummer most of my life and I've loved playing this drum but last year I was diagnosed with colon cancer, and not having any insurance I have ridiculoous medical bills. So, I'm forced to sell most of my stuff. I have a feeling this drum is worth something substantial, and I don't want to get ripped off.

I'm not the original owner, so I can't verify that everything (or anything for that matter) on it is original, but here is what I have:

It's a 6.5x14 chrome over wood Ludwig snare drum with a pointy blue and olive badge. It's has a P-87 throwoff with the matching butt plate and die cast rims. It has classic ludwig lugs. I'll put up a pic or 2 and maybe that will help. Thanks in advance :)

Posted on 13 years ago

It's a Rock/Concert snare drum. Here is a maple one in the 1978 catalog:

[IMG]http://www.vintagedrumguide.com/images/ludwig_snaredrums/1978_LUDWIG_SNARES5.jpg[/IMG]

"God is dead." -Nietzsche

"Nietzsche is dead." -God
Posted on 13 years ago

Thank you so much! :)

ok...now for my next question..lol. I have to sell it...any idea what it's worth and what a fair price would be?

Posted on 13 years ago

Best thing to do is to check Ebay for completed auctions for same/similar items.

I know it wasn't a popular drum, so the value will likely not be very high compared to some other models.

My guess would be probably something between $200-$400. Yours appears to be in nice condition from what I can tell.

"God is dead." -Nietzsche

"Nietzsche is dead." -God
Posted on 13 years ago

cancerdude;93437