Vintage Drum Forum

Vintage Drum Forum (http://www.vintagedrumforum.com/index.php)
-   Vintage Drums (http://www.vintagedrumforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   future of drumheads (http://www.vintagedrumforum.com/showthread.php?t=64860)

steff 07-11-2019 01:44 PM

future of drumheads

today I was wondering if the future of drumheads could be in biogenetics to recreate the artificial skin they use today for medical surgery, it would be a great way to produce an industrial quantity to improve the technology, I wondered if today it is still only fantasy or would already possible

JimmySticks 07-11-2019 03:06 PM

Re: future of drumheads

I'm no expert, but don't calfskin drum heads already accomplish the feel and sound that biogenetically created skin would?

Even though it is artificially created, ethically speaking, people/drummers may not be ready to use it for anything other than its medical purpose.

O-Lugs 07-11-2019 03:27 PM

Interesting...but I'm not sure that our primitive style drums will even warrant such a technological advancement as you suggest. Our beloved analog instruments may go by the wayside one day.

steff 07-11-2019 05:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimmySticks (Post 448851)
I'm no expert, but don't calfskin drum heads already accomplish the feel and sound that biogenetically created skin would?

Even though it is artificially created, ethically speaking, people/drummers may not be ready to use it for anything other than its medical purpose.

only for a ethics matter, I am vegan but I recognize that calf skins have inimitable peculiarities, modern drummers are the only musicians forced to play plastic in their instrument, I wonder if a double bass player or a violinist would ever use nylon strings or a saxophonist the plastic reeds, they exist but nobody uses them

kdg 07-11-2019 05:49 PM

I think Soylent Green shows promise in this endeavor. :)

jaghog 07-11-2019 06:46 PM

So trip out while we eat recycling

Hoppy 07-12-2019 12:01 PM